Carmine in cosmetics, is it Halal?

So you are probably learning more about cosmetics and what goes into your products (And on your skin),

If you are, you might have learned about a little critter that could be creeping up in your cosmetics: CARMINE!

What is Carmine? 

Carmine is a red pigment that is obtained by crushing the dried bodies of female cochineal beetles, and as beetles are insects, (and are not permissible for us to eat as muslims,) having them in skin care and cosmetics, would not be the correct thing to do. 

Halal lipstick carmine

But cosmetics are not eaten! - does it really matter?

It does matter when you take into consideration that lipstick gets ingested over time by those of us who wear it, whether you realize it or not, so it is important that all of the products that are in such close contact with our mouths, be pure and made with halal ingredients. 

Also, several studies have shown that the skin absorbs the products that are applied to it, with the face having a higher permeability than other parts of the body.

So we must try our best to make our cosmetics as clean and pure as we can, so that we can be in a purified state without having haram(impermissible) substances on us. 

You can see if products contain Carmine by checking the ingredient list, if you find any of the following names, it means that carmine is used and this product is not halal:

  • Carmine
  • Cochineal extract
  • Natural Red 4
  • (E120)

 The good news is that there are many ways that lipsticks can be beautifully colored thay does not involve creepy crawling insects!

Carmine in lipsticks halal haraam

And that's what I do here, I make sure that only the purest ingredients make it to the lipsticks! 

And just how is this done? 

Well, let me introduce you to Iron oxides,

They are minerals that can be used to get a wide range of colors, as you can see from all the shades available, and not only that, but they are free of any toxics substances like lead, synthetic dyes, parabens,Phthalates, BHT, BHA, PEG Compounds or  Formaldehyde-Releasing preservatives. 

 Halal lipstick haraam carmine alcohol

So Carmine in lipsticks is not Halal, but that doesn't need to stop you from enjoying a wide range of gorgeous lip colors that are made with the best ingredients nature has to offer! 

Shop all halal lipsticks here 


Further reading :

 A little more on halal and haraam ingredient, taken from

Halal Food Guidelines

All food are considered Halal except the following (which are Haram)

  • All food are considered Halal except the following (which are Haram)
  • Swine/Pork and its by-products (like gelatine etc)
  • Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants
  • Reptiles and insects
  • Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals.
  • Food containing ingredients such as gelatine, enzymes, emulsifiers, and flavours are questionable (mashbooh), because of the origin of these ingredients is not known
  • The preparation, processing and manufacturing equipment must be free from all of the above.
  • The above rules also apply to all raw materials which are used in the manufacture of your product.

Food product must be free from all of the following,("and by relation, all products that will come in contact with our skin should also follow these guidelines, and here at Claudia Nour Cosmetics we treat our cosmetics just as we would treat the food that we eat, because both will nourish our body in one way or the other")

  • Pig or Dog blood
  • Blood
  • Part or by-product of human body e.g. human hair in L-Cysteine
  • Carnivorous animals (except fish)
  • Birds with talons or birds that feed by snatching and tearing e.g. eagles and other similar birds
  • Reptiles and insects
  • Any marine animals except fish
  • Animals that live on land and in water (amphibians) like frogs, crocodiles and other similar animals.
  • Animals which have died, by any means other than slaughtering according to the Islamic Law.
  • Animals which are generally considered as repulsive such as lice, maggots, mice, rats, spiders and other similar animals.
  • Animals permitted under the Islamic Law (i.e. Cow, Sheep, Lamb, Goat, Poultry etc.) which are not slaughtered according to the Islamic Law. (Note: Most animals in the U.K. are not slaughtered according to the Islamic Law).
  • Wine, Ethyl Alcohol or Spirits
  • Intoxicating and hazardous plants
  • Any product or by-product (including any product used temporarily as a substitute or for trial) which contains or is derived from any one or more of the above products (as defined in sections 1. to 13.) in however minute quantity, whether as an ingredient or subingredient or as a processing aid or as a releasing agent or as a glazing agent or as an additive or as a colour or in any other form, is Haraam (unlawful) for Muslims
  • The preparation, processing and the manufacturing equipment must be free from all of the above as defined in sections 1. to 14.
  • The packaging material, which comes in contact with the food product must be free from all of the above as defined in sections 1. to 14.